Market cap
DIA price
Total supply
Holders
5.4B USDepartial
DIA does not read Metis onchain yet. The figure above is a floor.
47,470holders
What the top-10 is
Shares of the same supply as Top-10, from public address labels covering 100.0% of the top-10 balance. Exchange custody is one address holding for many end holders. Unattributed means unlabelled, not self-custodied.
Measured on Ethereum. Shares are of the Ethereum supply, not the multi-chain total.
+$169.1Msince Fri, Aug 28 UTC
Change in the supply DIA reads across this coin’s chains, between two daily snapshots. Not mints minus redeems: DIA does not publish issuance flow.
Market data · CoinGecko
Market data · CoinGecko
Circulating supply · DeFiLlama
Aggregator figure, not a contract read. DIA’s own onchain supply is the separate series below.
Percentage change in USDe's circulating supply as reported by DeFiLlama, measured against that source's own past. It is not a change in the onchain supply above, which DIA reads from the contracts directly and which is a different measurement of the same coin. A dash means the map has no reading close enough to the start of the window, a stretch inside it where supply was not reported at all, or a starting figure too small for a percentage to describe. Hover a dash for which.
6 of the 13 chains DIA holds a verified USDe contract on carry a deployment date and are plotted here. The other 7 were verified without one and are left off the curve rather than dated to the day DIA read them.
$648.6M
deployed across 8 markets on 7 protocols
Lower bound: USDe's balance inside lending markets DIA reads on-chain directly. Excludes DEX liquidity, CDP collateral, and any market on a chain or protocol DIA does not yet track. The share above is measured against a partial onchain supply figure — DIA has not yet read Metis.
DIA price
$0.9998
Peg deviation
-2 bps
Peg currency
USD
Launched
Primary use
—
Last snapshot
Fri, Sep 4 UTC
USDe is not a cash-backed stablecoin. Ethena Labs calls it a synthetic dollar.
How the dollar value is produced
Ethena's documentation describes a "delta-neutral backing" design: the protocol holds a portfolio of backing assets and hedges the price-change risk of the volatile ones. Volatile holdings, listed as spot crypto, tokenized equities and tokenized commodities, are paired with short futures positions of approximately the same notional size. Stable holdings, listed as liquid stablecoins and short-duration real-world assets, carry no hedge. The dollar value comes from the hedge offsetting the collateral. There is no bank balance behind it. The explainer sets out how that differs from a reserve-backed USD token.
Who can mint
Minting is permissioned. Ethena states that a whitelisted user provides roughly $100 of USDT and receives roughly 100 newly minted USDe atomically, less execution costs, while the protocol opens the matching short perpetual position. Redemption reverses that, with slippage and execution fees applied. Retail holders acquire USDe on secondary markets.
DIA records USDe at about $3.99B circulating across Ethereum, Arbitrum, Base and BSC.
Sources: Ethena docs: How USDe Works, Ethena official site, CoinGecko market page for Ethena USDe
The transparency dashboard
The dashboard shows the protocol backing ratio, total backing assets plus reserve fund, USDe total supply, secondary market price, and a category breakdown of backing assets. It presents monthly custodian attestations from four custodians: Copper, Ceffu, Anchorage Digital and Kraken. The documentation says these monthly attestations validate the existence, control and value of the backing assets, and states that none of the backing assets reside directly on any exchange partner.
The dashboard also names HT Digital, LlamaRisk and Chainlink's Proof of Reserves programme as independent third-party verification of the backing assets.
What the attestations do not cover
The individual attestation reports were not readable at the documentation layer, so the engagement standard, the signing firm on each report, and the exact perimeter of each attestation are not disclosed in the public documentation itself. A custodian attestation confirms assets sit with a custodian. It is not an audit opinion on the protocol, and it does not attest to the hedge positions that produce the dollar value.
The reserve fund
Ethena describes the reserve fund as a pool of protocol-held assets acting as an additional margin of safety, funded from revenue during high-revenue periods. Its documentation states that 0% of revenue is currently directed to the reserve fund, with 100% going to incentive rewards, promotional distributions and distribution incentives. No current balance is given in the documentation; it points to the dashboard.
Sources: Ethena transparency dashboard, Ethena docs: Custodian Attestations, Ethena docs: Reserve Fund
USDe has been through a European enforcement action, and the record is public.
The BaFin sequence
Ethena GmbH applied to BaFin in July 2024 for authorisation to issue USDe. BaFin imposed supervisory measures on 21 March 2025 and cited serious deficiencies in the business organisation of Ethena GmbH plus infringements of MiCAR requirements. Ethena GmbH withdrew the application on 3 April 2025. BaFin issued a coercive fine of 600,000 euros on 4 April 2025 and ordered the winding-up of the authorisation-requiring business on 14 April 2025. Ethena GmbH lodged an objection on 22 April 2025.
On 25 June 2025 BaFin instructed Ethena GmbH to wind up business and opened a 42-day redemption window closing 6 August 2025, supervised by a BaFin-appointed special representative. From 7 August 2025 BaFin stated that USDe tokens exchange only for USDC, and that future claims transfer to Ethena (BVI) Limited.
There is no EU authorisation for USDe issuance.
Sources: BaFin: Ethena GmbH winding-up order, BaFin: Ethena GmbH redemption process
Ethena documents its own risk surface. Four items are specific to USDe.
The regulatory item sits alongside them: BaFin ordered the German issuing entity wound up, and claims moved to a BVI entity.
Sources: Ethena docs: Funding Risk, Ethena docs: Custodial Risk, Ethena docs: Reserve Fund
The Global Stablecoin Map tracks USDe as a synthetic USD token issued by Ethena Labs, with backing classified as delta-neutral derivatives.
Covered: token supply and market price on Ethereum, Arbitrum, Base and BSC, giving a circulating figure of about $3.99B, plus deviation of the secondary market price from the $1 reference.
Not covered: the hedge positions. USDe's dollar value depends on short futures and perpetual positions held on centralised derivatives venues and on collateral sitting with off-exchange custodians. None of that is readable from a chain. Any on-chain view of USDe measures the token, not the solvency of the structure behind it. For that, the custodian attestations and the transparency dashboard are the disclosure of record, and their limits are described above.
Sources: Ethena transparency dashboard, Ethena docs: How USDe Works
Ethena describes a delta-neutral portfolio: spot crypto, tokenized equities and tokenized commodities hedged with short futures of roughly equal notional size, plus liquid stablecoins and short-duration real-world assets that carry no hedge.
Ethena publishes monthly custodian attestations covering assets held with Copper, Ceffu, Anchorage Digital and Kraken. These attest to assets at custodians, not to the hedge positions, and the documentation does not state the engagement standard.
No. Ethena states that only whitelisted users mint and redeem. Other holders buy and sell USDe on secondary markets.
No. Ethena GmbH withdrew its authorisation application on 3 April 2025, and BaFin ordered the business wound up with a redemption window that closed on 6 August 2025.
0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x4c9EDD58…ff1E68B3Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34Explorer ↗DEkqHyPN7G…iCwjEonTExplorer ↗0x39fe7a0d…f0b3db0dExplorer ↗Supply on this page is read from these contracts. Addresses are verified by DIA against the issuer’s own published documentation.
0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x4c9edd58…ff1e68b3mint(address,uint256)0x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef340x5d3a1ff2…1a52ef34DEkqHyPN7G…iCwjEonTfreezeAuthoritymintAuthority0x39fe7a0d…f0b3db0dNot read on metis. no RPC config.
Read from the deployed contract. “Not determined” means the contract’s full function set could not be enumerated, not that the capability is absent: a bytecode scan can confirm that a function exists and can never prove that one does not.